Criminal Justice Information Network Board Members

North Carolina General Statute 143-661: TRANSFER CRIMINAL JUSTICE INFORMATION NETWORK TO THE OFFICE OF THE STATE CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER SECTION 6A.11.(a) The Criminal Justice Information Network (CJIN), as provided in Article 69 of Chapter 143 of the General Statutes, is hereby transferred to the Office of the State Chief Information Officer. The transfer shall have all the elements of a Type II transfer, as defined in G.S. 143A-6., SECTION 6A.11.(b) G.S. 143-661(a) reads as rewritten: "(a) The Criminal Justice Information Network Governing Board is established within the Office of the State Chief Information Officer to operate the State's Criminal Justice Information Network, the purpose of which shall be to provide the governmental and technical information systems infrastructure necessary for accomplishing State and local governmental public safety and justice functions in the most effective manner by appropriately and efficiently sharing criminal justice and juvenile justice information among law enforcement, judicial, and corrections agencies.

The Board is established within the Office of the State Chief Information Officer, for organizational and budgetary purposes only and the Board shall exercise all of its statutory powers in this Article independent of control by the Office of the State Chief Information Officer." SECTION 6A.11.(c) G.S. 143-664(b) reads as rewritten: "(b) Pending permanent staffing, the Department The staff of the Criminal Justice Information Network shall provide the Board with professional and clerical staff support and any additional support the Board needs to fulfill its mandate. The Board's staff shall use space provided by the Office of the State Chief Information Officer." General Statute 143-661.

The following 21 members have been appointed to the CJIN Board:

Steve Lingerfelt, Chairman
Director of Communication and Information Services
City of High Point
Appointed by President of N.C.  Chapter of the Association of Public Communications Officials International

Glenn Mack
Chief Information Officer
N.C. Department of Public Safety
Appointed by Governor

Ryan Kokajko
Magistrate, Guilford County
Judicial District 18
Appointed by Chief Justice

Tyronne Sutton
Chief of Police, Princeton, NC
Chiefs of Police Association
Appointed by Governor     

Vanessa Martinucci
Director, NC State Crime Lab
Appointed by Attorney General

Chief Laura Fahnestock, Retired
Fuquay Varina Police Department
Appointed by Speaker of the House

The Honorable Allen Baddour
Superior Court Judge
Judicial District 15B
Appointed by Chief Justice

William Bryan
Member of the Public
Appointed by Speaker of the House

The Honorable Galen Braddy
District Court Judge
Judicial District 3A
Appointed by Chief Justice

Kesha Howell
Chief Operating Officer
N.C. Administrative Office of the Courts
Appointed by Chief Justice

Joe Burns
Member of the Public
Appointed by President Pro Tempore of the Senate

Daniel Kiger
Wake Forest University Police Department
Forsyth County
Appointed by President Pro Tempore of the Senate



CJIN Advisory Members:

Director Danny Bell, CJLEADS

Chief Frank Palombo, NCIS-LInX Carolinas, New Bern Police Department (Retired)

Criminal Investigator Kim Thomas, Fayetteville Police Department

Lieutenant Ryan Hepler, Rocky Mount Police Department

Evidence Supervisor Cameron Garner, Rockingham County Sheriff’s Office

Senior Detective John Guard, Pitt County Sheriff’s Office

Police Operations Manager Linda Hodgson, High Point Police Department

Director James Soukup, Durham Communications Center

GangNet Administrator Jon-Paul Guarino, Governor’s Crime Commission

Executive Director David Jones, Governor's Crime Commisssion (Retired)

FirstNet Administrator Red Grasso, NC Point of Contact for FirstNet Program

Ivy McMillian
N.C. State Bureau of Investigation

N.C. Department of Public Safety
Appointed by Governor

Kimberly Quintus
N.C.  Division of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
Appointed by Governor

Honorable Michael McArthur
Clerk of Superior Court
Chowan County
Appointed by Chief Justice

Honorable Charles Blackwood, Vice Chairman
Orange County
Appointed by Attorney General

Tare "T" Davis
Warren County Commissioner

Member of a County
Appointed by Speaker of the House

Crystal Cody
Computer Technology Solutions Manager
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department
Appointed by President Pro Tempore of the Senate

Honorable Lorrin Freeman
District Attorney
Wake County, Judicial District 11
Appointed by Chief Justice

Torre Jessup, COO                    
N.C. Department of Information Technology
Appointed by Governor

N.C.  Division of Motor Vehicles
Appointed by Governor


Ex-Officio Member:

Greg Marrow
CIO for Durham County

Member of NCLGISA



Dr. LaVonda Fowler
CJIN Executive Director



Director Robert Barber, Business Systems Analyst, Forsyth County

Executive Director Tim Johnson, CGIA

Major Steve Willis, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department (Retired)

Executive Director Richard Taylor, State 911 Board

Deputy Chief Mitch Cunningham, Wilmington Police Department (Retired)

Technical Manager Rodney Spell, State Highway Patrol

Lt. Jeffery Mitchell, Cumberland County Sheriff’s Office

Special Agent in Charge Dirk German, Information Analysis and Analytic Center

Director Marc Erickson, Retired Executive, Industry Expert in Video Operations

Program Manager John McShane, State ITS

Judge Teresa Vincent, Chief District Court Judge for District 18, AOC

Major Christopher Creech, Wake County Sheriff's Office